High-density polyethylene (LDPE)

High-density polyethylene (LDPE)

Recycled LDPE granules: high pressure low density LDPE polyethylene

Many sectors of human activity involve using low density polyethylene (LDPE). It is made of the same monomer as low-pressure PE, but under completely different conditions, which give the material completely different from HDPE properties. LDPE polyethylene is prepared by polymerization of ethylene with the use of the initiator, which acts as oxygen, at a temperature of 150-200 ° C and a pressure of up to 300 MPa. The desire to reduce the cost of products often encourages manufacturers of polymer products to use recycled LDPE instead of the virgin one, because it has a lower price, but similar performance.

High-pressure low density polyethylene: properties, characteristics and types

LDPE polyethylene is produced in the form of granules, the structure of which consists of a large number of branched macromolecules, folding into a crystal lattice. Due to the weak intermolecular bonds, this material has a low density, for which it received a second name – low density polyethylene (LDPE). Its main characteristics are:

  • molecular weight: 80000 – 500000;

  • density: 0.910-0.930 g / cm3;

  • softening temperature: +80 – +90° C;

  • melting point: +103 - +115° C ;

  • Brinell hardness: 14-25 MPa.

LDPE has universal properties that allow it to be used for different purposes. Distinctive features of granules and products from this material are:

  • Flexibility, ductility and softness, making the product pleasant to the touch;

  • good resistance against exposure to a chemically active environment;

  • the possibility of obtaining products with a shiny and perfectly smooth surface, which gives the product a more attractive appearance comparing with matte products from HDPE;

  • impermeability to moisture and air;

  • resistance to UV radiation of the sun;

  • complete inertia and lack of odor, including recycled granules;

  • excellent dielectric properties.

In addition, LDPE is a non-toxic and environmentally friendly material for humans and the environment, so it can be used for contact with food and toys for children.

There are different types of LDPE granules, which can be obtained by further processing. The main modifications of this polymer material are:

  • Foamed PE having a porous structure due to the introduction of a gas mixture of hydrocarbons in LDPE, which makes it plastic and durable at the same time. Such material is produced in sheets, rolls or in the form of bundles;

  • cross-linked high-pressure PE with increased density and strength, due to the presence of cross-links formed by a chain of hydrogen atoms between branches of macromolecules – this structure is achieved by introducing hydrogen peroxide into the molten raw material;

  • copolymers of LDPE with PE, or another type of different monomers

Technology of production of recycled LDPE granules

Recycled LDPE is obtained by using waste of this material, which is formed in the manufacture of various products from it, as well as the products themselves, which have served their time or become unusable. Today there are two ways of processing such recycled raw materials.

The first method is mechanical, involving grinding into crumbs or powdered mass of pre-selected, washed and dried recyclable materials, followed by its melting and casting. This method of processing allows preserving the physical and mechanical properties of recycled materials.

The second method is physico-chemical, which provides the sequential passage of the next stages of the technological cycle of processing of LDPE:

1. Sorting of recycled raw materials by grades and cleaning it from impurities;

2. Washing of the prepared waste in special complexes with the addition of detergents for the removal of complex, stable contaminants and their subsequent drying. At this stage, metal separation and flotation methods can be used, as well as removal of solid fraction residues and excess moisture in the centrifuge;

3. Crushing and grinding of raw materials using knife crushers, jet mills, rotary and hammer mills;

4. Agglomeration of the crushed material by heating it to the plasticizing temperature with a sharp cooling of the sintered raw material, which turns it into pellets. The resulting agglomerate can already serve as a semi-finished product for the manufacture of polymer products;

5. Pelletizing of pellets, where they are melted again and passed through the extruder: at this stage, plasticizers, bactericidal materials, antioxidants or dyes can be added to the raw material in order to obtain the necessary consumer properties. The threads of the recycled low density PE obtained at the output of the extruder are cooled with water or air, and cut into granules.

Where is high-pressure polyethylene used?

The scope of application of recycled and virgin LDPE granules is quite diverse. This material is used to make:

  • pipes for pressure lines or irrigation networks, as well as fittings to them;

  • housings of household appliances;

  • blow molding products, for example, canisters and bottles;

  • thermal insulation, which is used for foam LDPE(HPPE);

  • electrical insulation shell for cable products;

  • sleeves, bags and foils of different types, including shrinkable ones;

  • thermal glue of powder form, obtained from crushed granules;

  • the tiles of the polymer mixture and the roofing material;

  • components for the automotive industry;

  • non-woven materials, yarns, textile industry, and other products.

Flexx LLC is the largest processor of polymeric waste in the country. It also makes recycled high pressure polyethylene (LDPE) which can be bought at the most favorable price in Ukraine. Order recycled low density PE with the desired consumer properties and characteristics on our website!

Main directions

Полиэтилен высокого давления (LDPE)

Полиэтилен высокого давления (LDPE)

Вторичная гранула ПВД: полиэтилен LDPE высокого давления низкой плотности

Во многих отраслях человеческой деятельности сегодня находит широкое применение полиэтилен (ПЭ) высокого давления (LDPE). Как и ПЭ низкого давления, он изготавливается из того же мономера, но при совершенно других условиях, что и придает этому материалу абсолютно отличные от ПНД свойства. Полиэтилен LDPE получают методом полимеризации этилена с участием инициатора, которым выступает кислород, при температуре 150–200оС и давлении до 300 мПа. Желание снизить стоимость продукции часто поощряет производителей полимерных изделий вместо первичного использовать вторичный ПВД, имеющий меньшую цену и аналогичные эксплуатационные качества.

Полиэтилен высокого давления: свойства, характеристики и виды

Полиэтилен ПВД выпускается в форме гранул, структура которых состоит из большого числа разветвленных макромолекул, складывающихся в кристаллическую решетку. Из-за слабых межмолекулярных связей, этот материал обладает пониженной плотностью, за что он получил второе название – полиэтилен низкой плотности (ПЭНП). Основные его характеристики:

  • молекулярная масса: 80000 – 500000;

  • плотность: 0,910 – 0,930 г/см3;

  • температура размягчения: +80 – +90оС;

  • температура плавления: +103 - +115о С;

  • твердость по Бринеллю: 14 – 25 мПа.

ПВД имеет универсальные свойства, позволяющие использовать его для разных целей. Отличительными особенностями гранул и изделий из этого материала являются:

  • гибкость, пластичность и мягкость, делающие продукт приятными на ощупь;

  • хорошая стойкость против воздействия химически активных сред;

  • возможность получения изделий с блестящей и идеально гладкой поверхностью, что придает продукции более привлекательный внешний вид, если сравнивать ее с матовыми изделиями из ПНД;

  • непроницаемость для влаги и воздуха;

  • устойчивость к ультрафиолетовому излучению солнца;

  • полная инертность и отсутствие запаха, в том числе и у вторичных гранул;

  • отличные диэлектрические способности.

Кроме того, ПЭВД является нетоксичным и экологически безопасным материалом для человека и окружающей среды, поэтому его позволительно применять для контакта с пищевыми продуктами и изготовления игрушек для детей.

Существуют разные виды гранул LDPE, получить которые можно путем его дополнительной обработки. Основными модификациями этого полимерного материала являются:

  • ПЭ вспененный, имеющий пористую структуру, благодаря введению газовой смеси углеводородов в ПВД, что делает его пластичным и одновременно прочным – такой материал выпускается листами, в рулонах или в виде жгутов;

  • сшитый ПЭ высокого давления, обладающий повышенной плотностью и прочностью, благодаря наличию поперечных связей, образованных цепочкой атомов водорода, между ответвлениями макромолекул – такая структура достигается путем введения перекиси водорода в расплавленное сырье;

  • сополимеры ПВД с ПЭ другого вида или различными мономерами

Технология производства вторичных гранул ПВД

Для получения вторичного ПЭНП используют отходы этого материала, образующиеся при изготовлении из него разных изделий, а также сами изделия, отслужившие свой срок или пришедшие в негодность. Сегодня существует два способа переработки такого вторичного сырья.

Первый способ – механический, предполагающий измельчение в крошку или порошкообразную массу заранее отобранного, промытого и высушенного вторсырья, с последующей его плавкой и литьем. Такой метод переработки позволяет максимально сохранить физико-механические свойства используемого вторсырья.

Второй метод – физико-химический, предусматривающий последовательное прохождение следующих этапов технологического цикла переработки ПЭНП:

  1. сортировки вторичного сырья по маркам и очистки его от посторонних примесей;

  2. мойки подготовленных отходов в специальных комплексах с добавлением моющих веществ для удаления сложных, устойчивых загрязнений и последующей их сушки. На этом этапе могут применяться методы сепарации металла и флотации, а также удаление остатков твердых фракций и избыточной влаги в центрифуге;

  3. дробления сырья и его измельчения с помощью ножевых дробилок, струйной мельницы, роторных и молотковых измельчителей;

  4. агломерации измельченного материала путем его нагрева до температуры пластификации с резким охлаждением спекшегося сырья, что превращает его в окатыши. Полученный агломерат уже может служить полуфабрикатом для изготовления полимерных изделий;

  5. гранулирования окатышей, для чего они снова расплавляются и пропускаются через экструдер: на этом этапе, для получения необходимых потребительских свойств в сырье могут добавляться пластификаторы, бактерицидные материалы, антиоксиданты или красители. Полученные на выходе из экструдера нити вторичного ПЭ низкой плотности охлаждаются водой или воздухом, а также разрезаются на гранулы.

Где применяется полиэтилен высокого давления

Сфера применения вторичных и первичных гранул ПВД довольно разнообразна. Из этого материала сегодня изготавливают:

  • трубы для напорных магистралей или ирригационных сетей, а также фитинги к ним;

  • корпуса бытовой техники;

  • выдувные изделия, примером которых могут служить канистры и бутылки;

  • теплоизоляцию, для чего используется вспененный ПВД;

  • электроизоляционную оболочку для кабельной продукции;

  • рукава, мешки, пакеты и пленки разных видов, в том числе термоусадочные;

  • термоклей порошкообразной формы, получаемый из измельченных гранул;

  • черепицу из полимерпесчаной смеси и рубероид;

  • комплектующие детали и узлы для автомобилестроения;

  • нетканые материалы, нити для текстильного производства и другие изделия.

Наша компания ООО «Флексс» из Харькова является крупнейшим в стране переработчиком полимерных отходов, производит, в том числе, вторичный полиэтилен высокого давления (ПВД), купить который у нас можно по самой выгодной цене в Украине. Заказывайте вторичный ПЭ низкой плотности с нужными потребительскими свойствами и характеристиками на нашем сайте!

Основные направления